Whole30: Week 4

Wow, I can’t believe it’s already day 30!  Congratulations to everyone finishing up Whole30 with me today 🙂

My theme for this week was… purple! After my struggle to find purple cauliflower a few weeks ago (read here), it now seems to be everywhere.  So I picked up a head of purple cauliflower and, feeling inspired, grabbed an eggplant on my way by.  Following the suggestion of my foodie co-worker, I decided to try my hand at making ratatouille (I also happened to watch the movie earlier this week– it was a sign!).

For a meal that seems so simple, there sure are a lot of different steps involved.  However, it was well worth it because the flavour was delicious!  The only thing I wish I did differently was let it simmer for longer, but I was just too dang hungry to wait! All said and done, I’m still not sure what my feelings are toward eggplant.  The texture is so different, but I won’t rule it out yet; I will definitely have to give eggplant another try.

20160427_204713.png

(The eggplant is hard to see, but I swear it is in there!)

With my purple cauliflower, I made Cilantro Lime Cauliflower Rice  (minus the peas) and topped it with shredded chicken and avocado. Yum!

20160427_204827.png

I made some meals that didn’t consist of purple produce, here are a few for you to try:

Simple Roast Chicken with Garlic and Lemon (left picture): I hosted a birthday supper for my family last weekend and wanted to (finally) show them that Whole30 meals can be normal and delicious.  I tried cooking a whole chicken for the first time (eek!) which was definitely an experience… It took much longer to cook than I originally thought and, despite having two birds, it produced very little meat.  Despite the delay and modest servings, the meal was a hit– they even took seconds (of what was available)!

20160424_093426.jpg

Plantain Taco Salad (top right picture): I love plantains and am always trying to find ways to include them in my meal.  This week I was craving tacos, so I made up a simple taco salad (lettuce, tomato, avocado and ground beef with taco seasoning) and I added plantain chips. Loved it!

The next morning, I tried convincing my husband that it is okay to have salad for breakfast.  I’m not so sure he was buying it…

Butternut Squash Soup (bottom right picture): I made slow cooker chicken broth with my leftover bones from my meal earlier this week and made my favourite butternut squash soup! 

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp ghee
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 medium potatoes, cubed
  • 1 medium butternut squash cubed (approx. 2.5 cups cubed)
  • 4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp curry
  • dash of nutmeg
  • salt & pepper

Melt ghee over medium heat.  Add onion, celery, carrot, potatoes, and butternut squash, and cook for 5 minutes. Pour enough broth to cover all the vegetables and add curry and nutmeg.  Cover the pot and simmer for 40 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.  Blend! Season with salt & pepper.

 

 

Enjoy ❤

Leave a Reply

